The 1st Klaudia Taev International Competition for Young Singers took place 
in April 10 - 13, 1996.
The 17 participants of the competition came from Finland and Estonia.

The Competition was held in two rounds. Since the first competition the obligatory song of the competition has been “Ave Maria” by Franz Schubert.

Jury 1996:

Ivo Kuusk (Chairman) – Soloist of Estonian National Opera, Head of Voice Department of Estonian Academy of Music
Urve Tauts – Soloist of Estonian National Opera, Disciple of Klaudia Taev, Vocal teacher of Estonian Academy of Music
Katrin Karisma – Soloist of the Estonian National Opera
Therese Raide – Pianist, accompanist, singer
Silvi Baradinskas – Principal of Pärnu Music School
Heli Lääts – Freelancer soloist
Linnar Priimägi – Lecturer of art at Tallinn Pedagogical University
Jassi Zahharov – Soloist of Opera theatre “Vanemuine” 
Andrus Kallastu – Manager of Pärnu Opera